I’m Not Girlfriend Material

And I probably never will be.

I won’t spend every waking moment texting you, replying to your snapchats, or talking to you over FaceTime. I don’t expect to consume every moment of your day. I have classes and a job to worry about and I know you probably do too. Plus, I’m more of an in-person kind of person anyways. I enjoy body language and I hate trying to decipher the meaning behind a vague text.

I won’t adapt my interests and my hobbies around your interests and your hobbies. Not saying that I won’t be open to trying new things, but I won’t stop listening to country music in my car with the windows down just because you don’t like country music nor will I cease my habit of watching an episode of Friends, Family Guy, or Ricky & Morty before bed because you don’t like those shows. I’m my own person with my own likes and dislikes and I will not be molded into what you want me to be.

I’m not spontaneous. I like having a plan. I like having ample time to get ready for whatever I have going on that day. The idea of the unknown pours stress and anxiety into my being. So no, I’m not a “be ready in 10 minutes, I’m taking you somewhere” kinda gal. I need a full business day advance notice with info on how long we’ll be there, what I should wear, and what I need to bring.

I’m too simple. I enjoy staying in with pizza and a movie more than going to a party and staying out all night. I don’t really like gifts. I’m a fan of intangible presents such as concert tickets and adventures but, if you were to get me something, I like practical gifts such as pots and pans rather than expensive things I will rarely use. If you ask me where I want to eat I’ll say Chick-fil-a over a 5 star restaurant. I’m a simple gal. To quote Prince, “I just want your extra time and your kiss.”

I want to get married and I want kids and I’m not afraid to talk about it. I realize that this may scare you away, but what’s the point of dating if we’re not looking for a forever love. Of course, this doesn’t mean I expect a ring on my finger by the end of the year, it just means that we are working and progressing to that in the future, near or far.

I will love you too much, but it will take a while. I’ve been told that I’m intimidating and distant and I would somewhat agree. Initially, it may seem like I have a wall up and that I’m uninterested, but that is because guys are so used to getting girls easily and girls being up their butt all the time (for a lack of better terms). I’m comfortable giving you space and letting you do your own thing. I’m not crazy. I wouldn’t be with you if I didn’t trust you, but it will take time for me to get on that level with you. Though I may seem occasionally distant and uncaring, my love is far more intense than you could imagine. I’ll bend over backwards for you when you ask me to, and even when you don’t. I’m fiercely loyal and I’ll encourage you every step of the way. When I love someone, I love them with everything I have because that’s the way it should always be.

I won’t settle. I won’t settle for anyone who compromises or doesn’t like any of my characteristics stated above because I shouldn’t have to. My aunt recently told me that when you’re young you have a long list of qualities you look for in a man, but as you get older and still haven’t found anyone who fits the mold, you finally say “SCREW IT! CAN HE READ??” This gave me a good giggle, but I am only 21, I know what I want and I’m not afraid to wait for it.

“Love is patient” -1 Corinthians 13

-Until next time, B Grace out✌️

Leave a Reply

