My Paleo Experience

First & foremost, Happy Easter to everyone☺️ I hope your day has been full of family time, food & Jesus! Secondly, man has a been a long time since I’ve written….like wow, I’m slightly disappointed in myself. I could blame it on the stress that comes with the last semester of college or the looming date of graduation (😬), but I’m just going to apologize & say I’m going to try to do better from now on🙂

*quick disclaimer: I am not a nutritionist or spokesperson nor am I saying this is for everyone so please keep any hateful/unproductive comments to yoself, thank you and God bless*

So, paleo. I’m sure some of you reading this right now have no earthly idea what paleo even means. Well don’t feel intimidated because before I started this journey, I didn’t either. I’m not one to be spontaneous or jump into things head first, so before I made the decision to try out the paleo or, as many people like to call it, the “caveman diet”, I did my research. Ever since Christmas break when I, as hopefully many people also do, gained a good amount of weight (I mean who can say no to the homemade treats, second helpings of mashed potatoes, and all the glasses of wine??), I had been on youtube looking up fitness & diet tips. I can’t even remember what video I was watching, but one youtuber had mentioned that she always followed the paleo diet to lose the last few pounds. That’s when I started doing my research. I began collecting ample amounts of information on the pro’s, the con’s, the health risks, and the restrictions of the paleo diet. So basically, the paleo diet is based on foods similar to what might have been eaten during the Paleolithic era, which dates from approximately 2.5 million to 10,000 years ago. The belief is that the human body is better suited to that type of diet than to the modern diet of more processed foods.

While looking for a good image of a yes and no’s food list I came across this website. This will probably give you the best idea of what you can and can not eat while following the paleo diet. Some websites & books will tell you different things but basically, you should avoid grains, sweets, dairy products, beans, processed meats, potatoes, alcohol, peanuts, corn, & hydrogenated oils. I know, you’re probably thinking I’m crazy, but there are substitutes for everything & you can fill all your cravings while still following the paleo diet. My best piece of advice is PLEASE READ LABELS, especially when following the paleo diet. They put corn (high fructose corn syrup) in everything!!

I made the decision to start paleo about a month & a half ago when I had been working out 4-5 times a week & eating decently healthy & I still wasn’t seeing any results. For me, it’s less about the number I see on the scale & more about what I’m seeing in the mirror, how my clothes are fitting, & how I feel. The choice to try paleo wasn’t that difficult for me because I’m already lactose intolerant, rarely kept bread in my apartment, & I am not a huge sweets person anyways. I knew the hardest part for me would be the no cheese, no pasta, & no pizza policy, so if I could just get past that, it wouldn’t be too hard….and it hasn’t.

This is what a typical day of eating looks like for me:

For breakfast during the week I will have a cup of green tea with raw honey (almost all honey you buy is raw, so it’s nothing fancy) and bacon & egg cups that I usually make ahead of time on Sunday nights. On the weekends I’ll make paleo pancakes with some eggs & bacon on the side (I love that I didn’t have to give up my love for bacon!!!).

I’ll just have a big protein shake for lunch most of the time because I’m just getting home from the gym & want something quick & filling. For the shake I just use 1 banana, 1 cup of frozen pineapple, 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk (coconut works too), 1/4 tsp vanilla (which you don’t have to do if you’re using vanilla protein powder), 1 scoop of vanilla paleo protein powder (I got mine here), & 2 tablespoons of unsweetened coconut flakes. I am not exaggerating when I say it tastes like a pina colada y’all. If I don’t have a shake I’ll usually just eat a big spinach salad with either chicken, tuna, or shrimp on it & I’ll throw some nuts, peppers, avocado, basically whatever I have laying around on it with some balsamic vinegar and oil. I’ll eat a side of fruit with it as well. I like to get my carbs/fruits in earlier in the day so I can use that sugar as fuel through the rest of the day🙂

Since I’m eating lunch around 11-12, I like to eat a snack around 2-3 before I go to work to hold me off until dinner. I love eating half an apple with raw almond butter, cashews, or a Lara bar. They’re all quick, easy , yummy options.

For dinner I like have a mix of proteins and veggies with a little starch. My go-to is chicken & sweet potatoes. I’ll either bake a sweet potato or make sweet potato fries with either a grilled chicken breast or grilled chicken tenders. Sometimes I mix it up & wrap my chicken breast in bacon or make paleo chicken nuggets. Just keep it exciting!

I usually don’t have the craving for sweets, but I found a paleo icecream at HEB last month & it is sooooo good. It’s called NadaMoo! & some of the flavors are paleo friendly & some are not, so again just read the labels!

Eating paleo has not stopped me from eating out with my friends, you can always find something you can eat at restaurants, I promise. Fajitas and grilled chicken meals are my go-to.

It’s always been difficult for me to lose weight, but with this and exercise, it’s been easy. With eating paleo and exercising, I’ve lost about 15 lbs since the middle of January, most of the weight loss occurring when I implemented paleo eating in March. I made the switch a week or two before lent began so I decided to stick with it up until Easter, with no cheats (except one bite of a honey butter chicken biscuit oops), and then I would decide if I wanted to maintain this lifestyle long term or not. With it being Easter today, I am now at the end of lent season and have decided to keep doing paleo strictly but with 1-3 cheat meals a week. But, when I say cheat meals I mean a couple of slices of pizza not the whole pizza plus a carton of Bluebell & a Dr. Pepper. It’s all about moderation. I will tell you though, my first cheat meal will be a patty melt from whataburger (I’ll be dreaming about you until I have you in my hands tomorrow bby😋).

But really, if you are interested in eating paleo or even considering trying it out, please do! It’s so worth it. I thought the lack of carbs would make me tired, but it doesn’t. There is a substitution for everything you cut out & you don’t feel hungry all the time like with other restrictive diets.

If you are interested this is one of my favorite websites to get my recipes from: Wicked Spatula

& of course, my board on pinterest

Thanks for reading this long & overdrawn post about the diet that still lets me eat bacon🤗

If you have any questions or comments about paleo or anything else, I’d love to hear them!

Until next time,

-Bgrace out✌️

Leave a Reply

